The Benefits (and Drawbacks) of Multiple Personalities

dark_half_by_anondeadpool-d67ucao

It’s a pretty well-known fact that writers are crazy. You have to have a certain level of mental imbalance in order to create people, bring them to life, and then tell stories about them. There are, in fact, books written on this subject (The Midnight Disease by Alice Flaherty being one of my favorites), but for my purposes, that’s not exactly what I’m talking about.

I’ve always written under my real name because, well, I just didn’t see any reason to do anything differently. Then I got talked into co-writing a very graphic crime/horror novel, and I began to worry that someone would see my name on KISS KISS BARK, then see it on BEAUTIFUL MONSTER, and mistakenly would assume they should be sold or shelved side-by side!

kisskissbarkfrontBeautifulMonster_150dpi_eBook

 

Thus, it became clear that I needed to come up with a pen name – which I did and I’ve explained before, but just in case you missed it: My niece has always called me Aunt Mimi, and I had two Aunt Mimis growing up, so the name Mimi was a natural choice. Then I just added my middle initial and my maiden name and – voila! – pen name! And I love the fact that Mimi sounds so cute and innocent, and I use it for my horror writing! I’m twisted . . . what can I say.

It was fine for a while. I had two Facebook pages set up: the original one under my real name and one under my pen name. But then I started a new job, and time constraints led me to decide to limit my social networking time. I closed down the page for Mimi and focused on my original page instead.  Interestingly, it didn’t take long for me to realize that I was spending the same amount of time on one page as I had been on two. I realized another thing: my other half wanted her own territory.

dark_half_by_anondeadpool-d67ucao

Mimi wants her time, her space, her voice. So I’ve reopened Mimi’s Facebook page, and she has her own author page there as well. Mimi has her own email account, and now she also has her own Twitter account (@MimiAWilliams). And very soon, Mimi will have her own blog and her own website! Mimi is the channel for my darker side (come on, we all have one!), and she has been getting short-changed lately. Believe it or not, this makes so many things so much easier for me! There are very few people who think that we are actually two different people, so if I have friends who cross-over between the two personas, that’s just fine. This just makes it less of a challenge for me to keep my ideas straight, and it serves as an appropriate outlet for that darker element in me who also requires attention.

So you can friend me on Facebook at Kim Williams Justesen, the author page Kim Williams-Justesen, Mimi A. Williams (or MA Williams), and her author page Mimiloveshorror. You can tweet me at @kwjwrites, or@MimiAWilliams. My web site is http://www.kwjustesen.com, and as soon as Mimi’s page and her blog are up, I’ll send out word! OH – and we are both on Goodreads under our separate names.

There are things about the writing world that truly can make me crazy, but separating my two sides and giving them each a voice is making at least part of it a little less crazy than before!

7 thoughts on “The Benefits (and Drawbacks) of Multiple Personalities

  1. Linda L. Bennett says:

    Fantastic! Kim/Mimi

  2. Erin R Britt says:

    This is all fine and good, but you’re not getting double the Christmas/Birthday presents from me. :P

  3. I find myself in the very same boat as you Ms. Justesen. Although my real name has nothing to really do with writing, my pen name is the name that I write under. I wanted to have my real life separate from my writing career so I created a persona to go with it. Now I find myself with twin accounts for everything from Twitter to Facebook to email. But I enjoy the duality. When people see the book, because it’s hard boiled crime fiction, I never wanted them to connect it to me directly. So now when I get a comment or post or email I can address it accordingly without having any confusion, or having to explain myself to people who know me as myself and people who know me by my pen-name. I guess what I’m trying to say is that for us writers, having multiple personalities is not only easy, it’s almost necessary.

Leave a Reply

