A little bit about me

If you’ve read any of my MySpace blog, you have probably figured a lot of this out already, but for those of you new to me and my writing, brace yourself for the real me.

I’m a product of the 80s, which explains a lot right there.  I graduated from high school in 1982, and literally came of age with “Fast Times at Ridgemont High” and the Brat Pack.  In high school I was heavily involved in the Drama club, Dance club, and the high school newspaper (the Colt Round Up, for those outside of Cottonwood High).  I’ve always been a writer.  I wrote my first book in third grade, and then wrote a book report about it.  Thank God for understanding teachers (Mrs. Lohnes, that means you!). At one point I wanted to be a professional dancer – modern dance or ballet.  When I became involved in drama, I knew I wanted to move to New York and become an actress.  All it took was one trip to the Big Apple to cure me of that.  I couldn’t quite figure out how I was going to work on Broadway, but not live in Manhattan.  It wasn’t that I was scared, but totally overwhelmed.  Too many people, too much noise, too much – everything!

When I reached college, I decided to go with what I knew I did best – write.  I opted for a degree in English, but I put all my emphasis in public relations and advertising.  This was partly because I knew I could do a lot of writing, but also because my dad was in advertising and I would have done anything back then to earn his approval.  Big lesson here – it didn’t work.  Doing something to win someone else’s attention or praise is a huge mistake.  For 12 years I worked in a field that I only barely enjoyed because I wanted my dad to be proud of me.  But I digress.

 In junior high I discovered rock.  My bedroom wall was plastered with pictures of the band members of KISS.  I know, I know – really silly.  But they were cutting edge back in the day, not the schlock they became in the 90s.  In high school I became a fan of Pink Floyd, the Who, the Stones, Rod Stewart, and others.  Of course (as my husband loves to point out) I also loved disco.  Well, I was a dancer – disco was great dance music. 

To this day, however, I consider myself a metal girl!  I love bands like Metallica, Three Days Grace, Stone Sour, Operator, Avenged Sevenfold, Motley Crue, Aerosmith, and others.  I love going to concerts because my age becomes irrelevant! rockout.jpgThis is me at Poison!

At the age of 37, I got my first tattoo!  The dragonfly is made up of the birthstones of each member of my family.  Dragonflies are special to me, too, because they are the harbingers of good news and good fortune.  tatupclose.jpg The orchid is also special as it represents grace, beauty, sensuality, and the mysterious.  I’m particularly proud of the artwork I have, and very grateful to the artists who created it.

I’m also fortunate to be married to an amazing man named Mike.  This is the second marriage for both of us, and we have worked hard to be together and stay together.  Most of the time we are blissfully happy, the rest of the time we are like ordinary married people.  Both of us came from marriages that we knew were mistakes.  Both of us have children from those marriages, and we have a third child from this marriage.  Both of us are constantly frustrated by our exes, but it serves as a reminder of how important we are to each other.  mike1.jpg God, he is gorgeous!  So sweet, so handsome, such an amazing man!

I have three beautiful, talented, wonderful kids.  My oldest is a strong young woman with a good head and a loving heart.  She is caring, insightful, and talented, and every day I am more and more proud of what an amazing individual she is.  My middle one is athletic, strong, and funny.  He keeps me in stitches, and impresses me regularly with his athletic skill.  He is going to blow the world away one of these days. My youngest is a beauty.  She is funny, artistic, and loving.  No doubt she will be an artist of some kind, though she could just as easily be a model.  Not a week goes by that someone doesn’t comment on how gorgeous she is. 

Okay – I’ve prattled on long enough here.  You know more than you ever wanted to about me.  In fact, I doubt you wanted to know this much.  But hey, you kept reading!  Come back soon, and by all means, drop me a note to let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

