promises

When I met him, he made me promises.

He was going to be a lawyer, he was going to move to Washington, he was going to be successful.

More than one person told me not to marry him, but back then I believed in promises, and back then, I needed to believe him.

After we married, he made me promises.

He said he would finish school, he said he would take care of the house, he said he would be a better father than his own had been.

More than one person told me I was delusional, but back then, I believed in promises, and back then, I needed to believe him.

When we were separating, he made me promises.

He would try harder to understand, he would pay off our insurmountable debt, he would not be jealous of our child.

More than one person told me to stick it out, but by then I stopped believing in promises, and by then, I no longer cared about him.

When he remarried, he made her promises.

She had to learn the hard way, too.

One thought on “promises

  1. Pwned says:

    Well, you got owned..

Leave a Reply

