Speaking About Writing

Okay – not exactly this second, but I received two invitations this week for speaking engagements.  Actually, I got the first one last week, but forgot to write it down, so when the reminder came, I sort got excited all over again.  I’ve been asked to speak at the Utah Chapter of the International Reading Association (UCIRA) on November 17th.  I’m part of a panel discussion in the morning, then I’m talking to teachers about using literature and contemporary middle grade and young adult fiction in the class room.  They have a book store set up, also, so I will be doing a book signing right before lunch.  And they pay me!  I’m fairly excited just to get a free lunch and sell some books, but actually receiving reasonable compensation is an added bonus.

I’ve also been asked to be part of a giant children’s literary event at the Provo Library this spring.  There will be workshops on writing, creativity, and publishing, along with panel discussions, readings, and book signings.  I can’t remember the date at the moment (accidentally erased the email) so when I find out the dates and times, I’ll repost them here.

I’d like to say it’s raw talent alone that gets me these gigs.  Well, not just yet.  It has a lot more to do with networking with quality people who work together to help each other out.  Writing friends are some of my best friends, and I’m really grateful to know a lot of talented and connected people. We all keep in touch through a listserve, and we support each other, celebrate successes with each other, and commiserate when things don’t go as hoped.  They are a great group. 

Just sharing a little news that has me more upbeat than recent days.  More details coming soon.

Leave a Reply

