Meme and an Update (2 cents)

First the update –

The bad news was that the ultrasound did find a something.  The good news is, if they had to find something, this was a good something to find.  I apparently have a form of fibro-cystic disease, but rather than producing fibroid tumors, my body produces water-filled tumors that are benign.  Unfortunately I get a lot of them, and they are large, and they are uncomfortable.  The bugger that caused all the uproar yesterday was the size of my fist and produced nearly 1/2 cup of fluid when drained.  I’ll spare you the gory details.  Suffice to say I am relieved, and I appreciate the comments – both on line and in my email – from my blogfriends and others.  Your kind thoughts are truly and deeply appreciated.

Now – to the meme.

 Lisa didn’t tag me, but I took it anyway because I like this one.  And since I’m leaving town in the morning, I thought it was good timing. It’s a “Places You Read” meme – so here goes.

1.  What book are you reading right now?  Do you like it?

2.  What was the last book you read on a plane?

3.  What was the last book you read on a road trip?

4. What is the most unusual place you found yourself reading?

5.  What books would you take to keep you occupied on a 2 week vacation to the beach?

And here’s my response:

1.  What book are you reading right now?  Do you like it? I’ve been reading a collection of short stories by great American authors, including pieces by John Updike, Ernest Hemingway, Willa Cather, and Alice Munroe.  I love short stories, and this has been interesting and satisfying.

2.  What was the last book you read on a plane? “Fluke: or I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings” – by Christopher Moore.  Very funny, though a little bizarre in a few places.

3.  What was the last book you read on a road trip? “Funny Little Monkey” by Andrew Ausseon.  A young adult humorous book, with lots of sarcastic humor and over-the-top characters.  I met Andrew in Vermont when we both attended Vermont College. He is a funny guy, and a very talented writer.

4. What is the most unusual place you found yourself reading? In a movie theater.  It was taking forever for the theater to get the film started, and I used to carry a book around with me everywhere anyway.  When it was time to start the movie, I was a little disappointed because the book was sooo good!

5.  What books would you take to keep you occupied on a 2 week vacation to the beach? I don’t know about two weeks – but probably something by Erik Larson (The Devil in the White City).  I just started “Thunderstruck” recently, but decided I wanted to read something else.  I’m taking “The Higher Power of Lucky” – a rather controversial young adult novel, with me to Mexico.  I want to see what all the fuss is about.

 Hmm – Lisa already tagged the people I’d have thought of.  Except maybe Alison and Shaunda, and maybe JulieAnn.  So I’ll pass the tag to them.

See you next week, when I hope to have a tan – or at least the beginnings of one!

One thought on “Meme and an Update (2 cents)

  1. lisamm says:

    Hi Kim, I’m glad to hear that you got the best possible bad news (you know what I mean, I hope). Hang in there, and I hope you have fun in Margaritaville. You are SO getting tagged next time, by the way!

Leave a Reply

