Living in the Past

My friend Mike Hernandez has a band called Aerial.  THEY ROCK!  Mike invited me to hear his band play this weekend (actually, he’s invited me a couple of times, and I haven’t been able to make it until this weekend).  I was all prepared to offer the usual courtesies – “It was good, and you really had a lot of enthusiasm,” but truthfully – I was blown away!  To put it in the vernacular – “You guys kicked ass!”

I felt like I’d been taken back about 20 years in time.  I ran up to the stage and danced, and I could actually say things like “I know the lead singer!”  Yeah – I was a groupie! And I had a riot doing it!  I like a lot of music in different genres, but I’m a metal girl at heart, and this band shook me to my core. 

The second band was Dirty Loveguns, and I am adding them to my list of friends.  They were solid, they ROCKED, and they were a great complement to Aerial. I love local music, and as a used-to-be singer myself, I appreciate anyone who can wail in the key of C.

Of course, I had a few drinks and loosened up a bit as the evening wore on, and I’m hoping I don’t need to offer any apologies to my friend Mike – but just in case – “Sorry if I behaved inappropriately.”

I’d like to say I actually mean that, but I was having far too much fun.  I can’t wait til the next show!

Leave a Reply

