A Food Meme

This stems from a funny conversation that some friends and I had recently, so I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.  It has been a while since I’ve done a meme, so let’s so who responds.  I’m specifically tagging Lisa, BlogLily, and Dr. Tom, but anyone who wants can feel free to give it a try.  Let me know when you do, because I’d love to see your responses.

1. Describe your favorite food, not only now it tastes, but it’s texture or other qualities you enjoy.

2. Describe a food you disliked.  What about it did you find distasteful?

3. If you were stuck somewhere with only one food item and one beverage, what would you want it to be?

4. Is there a food you’ve never tried that you would be interested in tasting at least once?  What do you think it would be like?

And here are my answers:

1. Describe your favorite food, not only now it tastes, but it’s texture or other qualities you enjoy.

Pretty much, if it’s chocolate, it’s my favorite.  I’m particularly fond of Galaxy chocolate bars.  They have a rich, milky flavor that is creamy and melts like satin on your tongue.  It smells like cocoa from a tin, and simply unwrapping the bar can cause my mouth to water.

2. Describe a food you disliked.  What about it did you find distasteful?

I once tried escargot because my dad told me how yummy it was.  To me, it was like eating a rubber eraser drenched in butter and garlic.  I even remember the noise it made as I chewed and it sprang back to its original form. It sounded just like the rubber-tipped pencils I used to chew on in elementary school. I politely spit it into my napkin, and a very kind waiter gave me a new napkin so I didn’t have to hold it in my lap all evening.

3. If you were stuck somewhere for a week with only one food item and one beverage, what would you want it to be?

Manchego cheese and a bottle of late harvest Riesling.  I’d go with chocolate, but there’s little nutritional value in that.  Manchego is a sharp cheese that is firm, and it would be at least a little filling.  The late harvest Riesling (Hogue Vineyards is especially nice!) is fruity, but not too sweet.  Besides, with enough of the wine, I wouldn’t care that all I had to eat was cheese. 

                 

4. Is there a food you’ve never tried that you would be interested in tasting at least once?  What do you think it would be like?

I’ll try just about anything once, with limited exceptions.  I guess, based on the recent specials shown during the Olympics, I’d like to try the fried scorpions, just to say I did it. Not that I have a great desire to eat bugs, but just to say I didn’t chicken out (no pun intended) would be the reason. I imagine it would be crunchy, no doubt, but it would probably have a nutty taste. I think.

So – let me know if you try the meme – or better yet – if you try something new!

Leave a Reply

