Friday Will Be Busy

I’ve got a busy day tomorrow, and I won’t be around over the weekend, so I decided to put a post up today.  I’ve had a good week as far as writing goes – primarily because I’ve had the week off from teaching at the Arts Institute.  Don’t take that the wrong way – I love teaching there.  Last week was finals week, however, and I needed a break to get caught up with things.  I started digging in on revisions for The Deepest Blue and I worked further on the new one, tentatively called Namesake.  I took that one to critique group last night.  I got great feedback – but that’s what you expect from a group of professional writers – and I came up with new ideas that are going to move this story forward.

So back to the subject of Friday – I got an unexpected invitation to speak at Hunter High School

and talk about writing and being a writer.  I have to be there at 8:30 in the morning, and I finish up around 10:40.  Today I’m spending time putting a new presentation together, using examples of good writing, and of not-so-good writing, and talking about what each says about the writer.  I’m also talking about the sources of ideas, and about the hardest part of writing for me – rejection letters.  I’ve got samples of those as well.  Ugh. 

When I get home tomorrow, my hubby and I are taking off for Yellowstone to stay at the Old Faithful Inn with some friends then in Jackson Hole. 

It’s a quick weekend trip and I am really looking forward to some R&R before next week.  I’m taking work with me, though.  I have ICL students whose packets arrived today and I’ll need to get them done by Monday.  The good news is, I don’t mind because I really love that work.  A lot of it I can do in the car as the hubby drives.  It takes us nearly 5 hours to get to Yellowstone, assuming the traffic cooperates and there aren’t too many buffalo road blocks once we get there.

I love the Old Faithful Inn.  It is rustic and lovely with its gnarled wood railings and huge stone fireplace. 

This time of year is a wonderful time to visit, too.  There are far fewer people in the park, and the animals venture closer to human areas.  They tend to move in around the geyser basin for warmth.  The elk will be rutting and making their eerie bugle noises,

and the big horned sheep will be jousting for dominance.  We haven’t decided if we’ll drive up to the Lamar valley to look for wolves (brrrr – very cold at 6:00 a.m.), but we’re hoping to see at least one moose.

So during the next 24 hours, I have to put together my presentation, work on ICL student packets, pack for my trip, do my presentation at Hunter High, and leave for Yellowstone.  I guess it’s time to get to work.

Leave a Reply

