Taking Nice, Deep Breaths

I have an overwhelming sense of relief at the moment, and I intend to enjoy every precious second of it.  The first round of revisions are finished, and the manuscript is on its way to the editor.  I made my deadline – to have the novel revised and submitted by the end of November.  Okay, I had to wait until December 1 to mail it, because November 30 was a Sunday.  But the revisions were finished the day after Thanksgiving, and now it is a matter of waiting for feedback. 

I am breathing more calmly since yesterday.  I love that feeling of relief, that feeling of accomplishment that comes with this stage of writing.  The closest comparison I can make is riding a roller coaster.  After bouncing around, turning every which way, there is a brief lull that allows you to catch your breath a little.  Sure, there are plenty more hills, drops, turns, and bends waiting for you, but for this small moment, you can actually enjoy what’s happening around you.

My editor was very excited to get the revisions.  We have been exchanging email for a few days, talking about the holidays, comparing stories about kids.  I love working with Peggy, but I also really like her as a person.  I’ve been lucky enough to spend time with her in person.  She invited me to Book Expo America in Washington D.C. when my first novel, My Brother the Dog, came out.  It was a delightful trip and I had the privilege of getting to know this lady as a real human being rather than as that distant, frigid concept of “editor” that most writers have.  She is warm, loving, generous, and really fun to hang out with.

I know that there is more work to do on this story, but that is just part of this process.  For now, I’m basking in the accomplishment of having completed – on time no less – a significant amount of work.  I think I’ll go find some good chocolate, soak in a hot bubble bath, and forget the rest of the world for about an hour tonight!

2 thoughts on “Taking Nice, Deep Breaths

  1. writemeg says:

    Congratulations on your achievement! You definitely deserve that rest and chocolate!

  2. Kerry says:

    chocolate is prettymuch never a bad idea…

    congratulations on finishing!

Leave a Reply

