One of Those Rare Moments

On March 21, I was a guest presenter at the Nebo Reading Council’s Young Writers’ conference.  I had a wonderful time, and I met some great kids, many of whom will grow up to be great writers.

I presented two workshops on the topic of “The Reading/Writing Journey for the Brave” – which had to do with emotional connection to characters, and conveying emotion in writing.  It also looked at why you have to be brave sometimes to be a reader or a writer.  The kids were very astute, and I had a ball teaching that day.

 

At the end of one of the sessions, a young lady approached me, told me thank you for the workshop, then handed me a note.  I smiled at her and told her thank you for coming. I glanced at the note, then tucked it in my folder.  It had been a long day and a short night before, and I was eager to drive the 40 minute trip to my house where I could crawl in my bed for a good nap.

Then earlier this week, as I sat in the parking lot of the junior high waiting for my daughter and her friend, I picked up the folder and opened it.  I discovered the note, and my heart warmed to glowing.  I’m certain the other parents parked nearby wondered what I had just read.  Here it is:

It may be a bit hard to read.  It says:

Dear Kim Williams

I felt all kind of great and mysterious amotions during your class. I learned lots about bravery, good describition about amotions, relation between the charecters and I, and tons more. Who knew you could teach so well? Thankyou for all that you did.

Your Friend, (and admirer)

Abby W.

There are days when this job is enough to make me crazy.  And then there are moments like Abby gave me, and I absolutely fall in love with what I do all over again.

‘Nuff said.

3 thoughts on “One of Those Rare Moments

  1. Kerry says:

    yeah. who knew?! 😉

  2. drtombibey says:

    Hey Ms Kim,

    Come visit me not only at my wordpress home base, but also my new FaceBook page. It has gone crazy.

    Dr. B

  3. Care says:

    That is SO lovely! and I bet more than a few others thought similar thoughts and just didn’t quite have the same courage to send a note. 🙂

Leave a Reply

