Places that Inspire

There are a number of places I find inspiring. I thoroughly adore Yellowstone National Park, for example.  I’m not certain why this location means so much to me, but I’ve visited every year for more than 8 years, and I never get tired of going there.  Atlantic Beach, Beaufort, and Asheville, North Carolina are all very meaningful places as well.  There is a creative energy in these locations that is palpable to me.

But nothing compares to Moab, Utah.  I dream in stories when I am in Moab.  I can feel the ancient energy that flows through those red-rock canyons; like a bare wire that crackles and sparks.  I live to hike up to Delicate Arch in Arches National Park and press my back against the sun-warmed sandstone.  I like chasing lizards across the sand, watching crows soar across the turquoise sky, and looking out across the bluffs to watch the sun melt behind a rusted butte.

One of my favorite locations is Dead Horse Point state park.  A quick walk just a few hundred yards across a parking lot lies one of the most breath-taking views ever seen.

This scenic overlook is where my husband proposed to me.  I spent several hours there this weekend, and my awe has not diminished.  I’ve loved this spot since I was kid, when my parents first took me to look through the worn chain link fence that served to protect those who might stumble off the precipice.  The fence is now made of stone, but there is nothing really to block the view of the stark, sculpted landscape.

Stories began crowding my brain for attention as my hubby and I sat on a rocky ledge and watched the sunset; first one, then another, then another until I had to begin sharing them for fear of forgetting what my brain was uncovering for me.

After we ate our picnic on the ledge and the sky had grown pale, we headed back to our campsite where I scribbled notes frantically by the light of my lantern.  That night, my dreams were filled with images and ideas, and I woke several times to jot notes in the darkness.  Hubby swears he didn’t hear me, but I was certain I kept him up most of the night.

The end result is two complete stories outlined, ideas on three more in a series. 

I think I’m going to make plans to move to Moab. I wonder if the magic wears off over time?

2 thoughts on “Places that Inspire

  1. Zadren Kaelix says:

    I enjoyed this post very much. I’ve always maintained that surroundings account for a majority of getting the creative juices up and at ’em. I’ve not been to Dead Horse Point, but have been to the other places you mention. N.C. in particular—I’m from the Blue Ridge! I don’t live there now, but if you get the chance check out Pisgah National Forest along the Parkway. There are many places to pull over and just soak up the surroundings. It was (and still is) a great place to get inspired. I now live in a remote part of Alaska where the scenery, for some reason, seems to “talk” to me. I know it sounds crazy, and I don’t mean it be, but it’s a place I feel a part of–like I belong. It has special meaning for me and my wife. Thanks for the post!

  2. Kim Justesen says:

    Actually, I don’t think it sounds crazy at all. I love the Pisgah National Forest. I’ve driven the parkway many times from Asheville to Little Switzerland, and in reverse to Raleigh again. My hubby was in Alaska last summer and he will not stop talking about it. One day I intend to go see for myself. Not that I don’t take his word for it, but I have always wanted to see Alaska.

Leave a Reply

