Paid to Write

For all the frustration that being involved in writing can bring, it comes with rewards as well.  Those days when royalty checks arrive in the mail are certainly days I celebrate my choice to put words on paper.  But the reality of my world is that, despite my efforts, I’m not yet able to live off my royalties and I keep myself employed full time so that I can continue to drive my Mustang, take care of my kids, and splurge on the occasional chocolate goody.  For the past seven years, I’ve paid my bills by teaching at local colleges, and it has been a wonderful and fulfilling experience overall.

But it’s time for a change.

My teaching jobs have caused me to feel distanced from the thing I love most (not the people – the activity) – and that is writing. I’ve been engaged in the search for a new job for several months.  The economy being what it is, I’ve had a hard time finding something that was going to work.  I’ve had some near misses, lots of interviews, and I’ve met some delightful people along the way (Debby at Datamark is a wonderful discovery!). I’ve come to expect that the perfect situation doesn’t exist at the moment, but I’ve found something that comes as close as I may find right now.

And best of all, I will be paid to write.

I will be paid to blog.

I will be paid to describe the products and services this unique organization offers.

I’m very pleased with this opportunity, and I am equally pleased that it means I will not have to sacrifice my writing.  If anything, it will continue to help me polish my skills because I’ll be writing constantly.  And the people I’ve met at this new location have, thus far, proven to be kind, friendly, and very positive.  They are enthusiastic about what they do and about the company in general. It’s a good atmosphere, and it has a good feeling to it.

And I’ll still be teaching.

My current employer has asked me to finish out my two classes to the end of the year, and they would like me to continue to teach one class a quarter at one of our campuses.  They have been very supportive and very gracious to me, and I’m so grateful for their support.

Change is always difficult, even when it is a change for the better – I’ve certainly written about that more than once.  I have very mixed emotions about this one, but overall, I know it’s the right choice to make.  It feels right, I have unilateral support, and I gain far more than I lose.

Best of all – I’ll be paid to write.

2 thoughts on “Paid to Write

  1. Edword says:

    Paid To Write … wow, sounds like a dream come true 🙂

  2. drtombibey says:

    Writer money spends better than job money.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

