Oddly Enough

I’ve had a fair share of – unusual? – occurrences in my life. By way of example, I came down with e-Coli after a family barbecue – I was the only one of seven people to get it – and as it turns out, it may have saved my life. Without going into gruesome detail, as a result of the e-Coli infection, doctors discovered several polyps in my colon, two of which were just a few weeks shy of turning from benign to malignant. I’d had tummy troubles for several months, but it took a very serious bacteria for this to be discovered. Last fall, I had a recurring dream about my young adult novel “The Deepest Blue” and within a week of dreaming about how to fix the story, my publisher called with an offer to buy the story – a year and a half after she initially rejected it.

Well, it’s happening again.

About a week ago, I made a public declaration that I had a new goal: I wanted to be able to rely on my writing for the majority of my income within the next five years. I posted it on Facebook, I told my friends and family, and I asked for support. Most of the responses were very supportive and very positive. A few were hesitant, but attempting to be supportive. A few were, essentially, “Are you nuts?” My response to that is “Possibly, but I’m committing to this anyway.” One afternoon someone quite close to me said, “I think it’s great to have a dream, but I also think saying you will make a living at something that is this unpredictable is sketchy.” To this I replied, “I believe that God/the Universe (insert deity of your choice here) wants me to be successful.”

And an amazing thing happened.

About a month ago I contacted The King’s English, a local independent bookstore, about maybe doing a book signing when my middle grade novel “Kiss Kiss Bark” comes out. I explained this was a re-release, and I expected nothing more.  This is what I got in my email a few days ago:

“Can we take pre-orders for signed copies of the new “Kiss Kiss Bark” and also feature it on our website? 

 And then we’d love to keep in touch and plan a launch party for your new YA book next fall. 
 
Your new adult book sounds “thrilling” 🙂 I’ll make sure the marketing team is aware of it since I only handle the children’s books. But I think we should do something for it as well.”
 
I called immediately and discovered that they would like to do a feature display of my book as well as putting it in their newsletter and on the website. They would also be happy to host a “re-launch” party for me in October. They are looking at “Beautiful Monster” for the same treatment, and they are already making plans for the release of my YA novel “The Deepest Blue” next year. To me this says that I’m going in the right direction, and that the nay-sayers and doubters will have to find another place to direct their negativity.
 
I have to say, though, that the nay-sayers are very motivating to me. The more they tell me “no” the more determined I am to succeed. I refuse to let them be right!
 
This blog is not religious in nature. In fact, I’m not religious in nature, but I believe in a higher power and I’ve seen it work (for me an others) too many times to call it coincidence. I think that when you make a commitment to yourself, that higher power becomes very interested in seeing you succeed. My commitment level to this goal, to my dream, is higher than just about any other commitment I’ve ever made, and I am already experiencing the rewards of my own belief. I don’t expect everyone to see things my way – I’m just not pushy like that – so if this is a bunch of hooey to you, okay. I’m good with that. But as things continue to progress and I get closer to my goal, I will keep posting these little oddities. For one thing, I hope they’ll inspire, and for another, I know they annoy the ju-ju-bees out of The Local Writer Who Hates My Guts (TLWWHMG).
 
Now, it’s time for my favorite four words – “It’s time to write!”
 
3 thoughts on “Oddly Enough

  1. clarklori says:

    I am a firm believer in just putting it “out there” is the best way to get things moving. Several years ago, I read the book “Write it down, Make it Happen,” and it is still one of my most often recommended books to anyone who has a dream they want to turn into reality. It really, really works.

    Best wishes to you!

  2. Kim Justesen says:

    Lori –

    I absolutely agree. It’s too easy to listen to fear – and as we all know (or should know) – fear is a liar. It is amazing how, when you commit to making something happen, everything begins to fall into place!

  3. Linda L. Bennett says:

    Kim/Mimi, I believe in the power of positivity, and you go girl. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

