The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

So first, I need to thank Jared S. Anderson for tagging me in this, and apologize that I’m a few days late (eek!). You should all check his blog at  http://jsascribes.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop/ to read his answers, or check out some of his other awesome possum stuff!

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:
What is the working title of your book? The Deepest Blue

Where did the idea come from for the book? A number of places. First, I wanted to try writing from the POV of a male character. Second, two of my children went through the process of having a step-parent adopt them because of issues pertaining to a biological parent. I lived through this with them (my oldest daughter asked my husband to adopt her when she was 15, and my step-son asked me to adopt him when he was 16). For all of us, these were emotional and powerful experiences, and naturally, that makes for good fodder for books!

What genre does your book fall under? It is contemporary young adult fiction.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Um – that’s a good question. I have no idea. I’m still fighting my way (literally and figuratively) through revisions. I’d have to do some investigating on that

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Sometimes it isn’t easy to fight for what you know is best for you, but ultimately, it is the best fight you’ll ever have.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? The publisher for this book is Tanglewood Press, a small (but rapidly growing and exceptionally high-quality) publisher based in Terre Haute, IN. I don’t have an agent currently, and I’ve been quite successful without one, so I don’t stress over it.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Depending on how you look at it, it took almost five years. I was midway into the very first draft, and had just written the scene where the main character’s father dies, and then my own dad passed away right before Christmas. I tried repeatedly to keep going, but I wound up putting the book aside for over a year. Then I got busy doing other things and stopped writing for nearly two years. By the time I got back to the manuscript, I’d taken nearly four years off.
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? It’s a bit like “Missing May” by Cynthia Rylant, and a bit like “A Place to Call Home” by Jackie French Koller.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? My daughter and my son both inspired me.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? There’s a great boat sinking!

Sadly, the friends whom I asked to join in on this weren’t able to, so I’ll direct you back to Jared’s blog for some other great blogs to check out!

http://jsascribes.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop/

5 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Linda L. Bennett says:

    In the words of Arte Johnson ( Laugh-In fame) “Very Interesting” LOL! All joking aside, Your book does sound very interesting and I wouldn’t mind reading it myself. When does it come out? I will be looking for it.

  2. […] The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (kwjwrites.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (kwjwrites.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

